This year will see a whole new type of award show that focuses on the recognition of electronic artists. Even though it was only recently announced, Paul Oakenfold’s brainchild “The Electronic Music Awards” will feature a myriad of categories, the more unique being “Best Radio Show” to “Best Club of the year.” There are of course the traditional categories “Best New Artist”(with Bob Moses and Jauz among the nominees) and “Single of the Year”(Lean On from Major Lazer and Runaway(U & I) from Galantis included in that category). The success of this awards show depends pretty heavily on the support said nominees give for their nominations and possible wins, and hopefully good reception can give context and meaning to the Dance Music community from the outside.

Single of the Year:
Calvin Harris & Disciples – How Deep is Your Love
The Chainsmokers – Roses (feat. ROZES)
Galantis – Runaway (U & I)
Kygo – Stole the Show (feat. Parson James)
Major Lazer & DJ Snake – Lean On (feat. MØ)

Album of the Year:
Alina Baraz & Galimatias – Urban Flora
Calvin Harris – Motion
Disclosure – Caracal
Galantis – Pharmacy
Jamie xx – In Colour

Radio Show of the Year:
BBC Radio 1 Essential Mix
BPM with Geronimo – Sirius XM
Danny Howard – BBC Radio 1’s Dance Anthems
Diplo and Friends – BBC Radio 1Xtra
Jason Bentley – Morning Becomes Eclectic – KCRW

Festival of the Year:
Creamfields – Daresbury, England
Electric Daisy Carnival – Las Vegas, USA
Sonar – Barcelona, Spain
The BPM Festival – Playa del Carmen, Mexico
Ultra Music Festival – Miami, USA

DJ of the Year:
Carl Cox
DJ Harvey

Best New Artist:
Bob Moses
DJ Snake

Best Club of the Year:
Sound LA


Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.